Posted in blogging about LIS

What We Love About Library School and Libraries, Part 2

Here are some more responses about why SLIMsters love library school and libraries.

“Even the most boring classes are made fun because I am making so many new friends.  To learn with them is an inspiration, and anyone who will work with them will have a great time.  And – I have had the most exciting class last weekend.  We learned how to repair books!”
-Tyrene Bada (OR 10)

“Library school has confirmed my faith in my desired profession. Everything seems to be changing, but the ambiguity that we live in feels charged with energy and creativity. Everyone I have interacted with as a student – from classmates and instructors to professionals in the field – has allowed for an amazing exchange of ideas, making me believe that every thing is going to be okay.”
-J. Turner Masland (Blogger extraordinaire of Dewey’s Not Dead, OR 10)

“I love libraries.

When I walk through the aisles of books, I can’t help but think of all the different people who have
touched these books: who have stayed up late reading them in bed, who have learned something new,
who have read them to their children, who have contributed to the history of these books by borrowing
and returning them for others to enjoy.

I think about the child who says just one more chapter before bed. I think about the little boy who
scoffed at getting his own library card until I told him that with the card he can learn about anything he
wanted. “Even garbage trucks?” he asked. As I answered yes, he ran off calling his mom and shouting
excitedly that he was going to get a library card and learn about garbage trucks. I love the possibilities
that present themselves for readers and I love that I get to be a part of that.”
-Amy Relyea (SCALA Treasurer, OR 11)

Leave a Reply

